Grossmarkt » Our history

Our history

A genuine success story
GROSSMARKT HANNOVER has become an institution, not only in Lower Saxony’s state capital but meanwhile also far beyond the region. The sod was turned in 1955 for the fruit and vegetable wholesale market with space for 56 wholesalers and more than 100 producers. Finally the day came on 4 July 1958 when the wholesale market opened its doors Am Tönniesberg site in Hanover, back then with 70,000 square metres of space. The operator, then and now:


GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH. What makes us special: the shareholders are wholesalers and producers who are active in the wholesale market. An area of 18,000 square metres was roofed in 1998 for buying and parking without getting wet. Today the wholesale market site covers 230,000 square metres.


This emphasises the genuine success story of GROSSMARKT HANNOVER, which has become one of the largest of its kind across Germany. Local operations supply farmer’s markets, gastronomy and food retailers with outstanding products.

 

1954

 

   Producers, wholesalers, importers and retailers in conjunction with the municipal administration decide to relocate the wholesale market from its former down town location Am Klagesmarkt to the Tönniesberg on the city’s outskirts.

1955

 

The sod is turned for the fruit and vegetable wholesale market with space for 65 wholesalers and more than 100 producers. The builder and operating company is the “Fruchtgroßmarkt-Verwaltungsgesellschaft”.

1958

 

 

 

 

 

 

On July 4th the new GROSSMARKT HANNOVER opens its doors at the Am Tönniesberg site with 70,000 m² of space.

Founding of GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH which takes over the operation of GROSSMARKT HANNOVER. The shareholders are wholesalers and producers who are active in the wholesale market. Wholesalers and producers make up the company’s management board on equal terms.

1959

 

All of the wholesale halls are already filled. Two banana ripening facilities are built in the second construction phase. The green space between the fruit sheds is also developed, creating new stall space for direct marketing producers.

 

1964

 

A new flower wholesale market hall with corresponding parking space is inaugurated. Previously flowers were traded in one of the fruit halls. It is operated by Blumen IG/Blumengroßmarkt Hannover GmbH.


1967

 

A major private service station opens its service area directly at the wholesale market. Heating systems, climate chambers, cold rooms and freezer rooms are installed to keep perishable goods fresh longer. The telecommunication and telex network is further expanded as well.

1968

 

After 10 years, a total area of 110,000 m² on the wholesale market site has been opened and partly developed.

1971

 

METRO opens its cash & carry market at the wholesale market, offering a variety of products to independent business operators.

1976

 

The turnover at GROSSMARKT HANNOVER increases steadily. Around 450 tons of fruit and vegetables are sold at the market every day.

1991

 

Construction of a recycling centre with waste sorting according to the requirements of the Packaging Directive (VerpackV).

1998

 

A roof over 18,000 m² of space is constructed between the six marketing halls of the fruit and vegetable market to protect against the weather. The 18,000 m² glass roof creates the largest roofed open area in northern Germany.

1999

 

Sorting and sustainable disposal of all waste on the wholesale market site in accordance with the Closed Substance Cycle Waste Management Act (KrW-AbfG).

2005

 

Takeover of the flower wholesale market and operation on own account.

2005

 

Founding of ATTRAKTIVE WOCHENMÄRKTE GMBH and operation of farmer’s markets in the Hanover region and beyond.

 

2005

 

Regular events held by GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH in the flower hall.

 

2008

 

50 years of GROSSMARKT HANNOVER.

 

2015

 

Flower hall renovation/rehabilitation.

 

2015Conversion of the disposal system, free cardboard/paper, foil, untreated wood and plastic drop-off for business operators.

 

2017

 

Conversion of the roadway lighting to LED.

Grossmarkt » Unsere Historie

Unsere Historie

Eine echte Erfolgsgeschichte

Der GROSSMARKT HANNOVER ist nicht nur in der niedersächsischen Landeshauptstadt, sondern mittlerweile auch weit über die Region hinaus eine echte Institution. 1955 stand der erste Spatenstich für den Obst- und Gemüsegroßmarkt mit Platz für 56 Großhändler und über 100 Produzenten an. Am 4. Juli 1958 war es dann soweit und der Großmarkt, damals 70.000 Quadratmeter groß, öffnete auf dem Gelände Am Tönniesberg in Hannover seine Pforten. Betreiber damals wie heute:


Die GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH. Besonders ist: Die Gesellschafter sind Großhändler und Produzenten, die auf dem Großmarkt aktiv sind. 1998 wurde eine Fläche von 18.000 Quadratmetern überdacht, so dass ein Einkaufen und Parken trockenen Fußes möglich ist. Heutzutage umfasst das Gelände des Großmarkts 230.000 Quadratmeter, woran deutlich wird:


Die Entwicklung des GROSSMARKT HANNOVER zu einem der größten seiner Art in ganz Deutschland, ist eine echte Erfolgsgeschichte. Die ansässigen Betriebe versorgen den Wochenmarkthandel, die Gastronomie und den stationären Lebensmitteleinzelhandel mit herausragenden Waren.

 

1954   Produzenten, Großhändler, Importeure und Einzelhändler treffen gemeinsam mit der Stadtverwaltung die Entscheidung, den Großmarkt von seinem bisherigen Standort Am Klagesmarkt in der Innenstadt auf den Tönniesberg am Stadtrand zu verlegen.

1955

Erster Spatenstich für den Obst- und Gemüsegroßmarkt, auf dem 65 Großhändler und über 100 Produzenten Platz finden sollen. Bauherr und Träger ist die "Fruchtgroßmarkt-Verwaltungsgesellschaft".

1958

Am 4. Juli öffnet der neue GROSSMARKT HANNOVER auf einer Fläche von 70.000 m² auf dem Gelände Am Tönniesberg seine Pforten.

 

Gründung der GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH, die den Betrieb des GROSSMARKT HANNOVER übernimmt. Gesellschafter sind auf dem Großmarkt aktive Großhändler und Erzeuger. Der Verwaltungsrat der Gesellschaft ist paritätisch mit Großhändlern und Erzeugern besetzt.

 

1959

Die vorhandenen Großhandelshallen sind bereits alle belegt. Im zweiten Bauabschnitt werden zwei Bananenreifereien errichtet. Außerdem findet der Ausbau des Grünstreifens zwischen den Fruchtschuppen statt, auf dem die selbstvermarktenden Produzenten neue Standflächen erhalten.

1964

Eine neue Blumengroßmarkthalle mit den dazugehörigen Parkflächen wird übergeben, bisher wurde der Handel mit Blumen in einer der Fruchthallen abgewickelt. Betreiber ist die Blumen IG/Blumengroßmarkt Hannover GmbH.

1967

Eine private Großtankstelle eröffnet ihren Servicebereich direkt am Großmarkt. Um die leicht verderbliche Ware länger frisch zu halten, werden Heizungsanlagen, Klimakammern, Kühl- und Gefrierräume installiert. Außerdem wird das Fernsprech- und Fernschreibnetz weiter ausgebaut.

1968

Nach 10 Jahren sind auf dem Großmarktgelände insgesamt 110.000 m² Fläche erschlossen und teilweise bebaut.

1971 

Die METRO eröffnet auf dem Großmarkt ihren Cash- und Carrymarkt und bietet selbständigen Gewerbetreibenden ein vielfältiges Angebot an Produkten.

1976 

Der Umschlag auf dem GROSSMARKT HANNOVER steigt stetig an. Jeden Tag werden auf dem Handelsplatz rund 450 Tonnen Obst und Gemüse verkauft.

1991 

Bau eines Wertstoffzentrums mit Abfallsortierung nach den Vorgaben der Verpackungsverordnung.

1998

Zum Schutz vor Witterungseinflüssen wird eine 18.000 m² große  Marktüberdachung zwischen den sechs Vermarktungshallen des Obst- und Gemüsemarktes errichtet. Durch das 18.000 m² große Glasdach entsteht die größte überdachte Freifläche Norddeutschlands.

1999

Nachhaltige Sortierung und Entsorgung des gesamten Abfalls auf dem Großmarktgelände nach dem Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz.

2005

Übernahme des Blumengroßmarktes und Betreibung auf eigene Rechnung.

2005 

Gründung der ATTRAKTIVE WOCHENMÄRKTE GMBH und die Betreibung von Wochenmärkten in der Region Hannover und darüber hinaus.

 

2005

Regelmäßige Veranstaltungen durch die GROSSMARKT HANNOVER GMBH in der Blumenhalle.

 

2008

50 Jahre GROSSMARKT HANNOVER.

 

2015

Renovierung/Sanierung Blumenhalle.

 

2015

Umstellung des Entsorgungssystems, kostenlose Abgabe von Pappe/Papier, Folien, unbehandeltem Holz und Kunststoffe für Gewerbetreibende.

 

2017Umstellung der Fahrbahnbeleuchtung auf LED.